The Honda 150 European Championship riders faced their toughest challenge yet in their first moto at the Grand Prix of The Netherlands, which was run earlier today, as an unbelievable amount of rain hit the man-made circuit. The power-sapping sand of Assen ensured that all of the CRF150R riders put the skills that they have acquired this season to the test.

Andrea Adamo romped to pole position for the fifth time this season, so managed to go undefeated in that particular category. It was Dave Kooiker, a wildcard from The Netherlands, who used the support from his friends and family to shoot into the early lead in the first moto. The time that he spent at the head of the field was short-lived though, as Dylan Kroon pushed through and immediately started to make a statement. A series of small errors cost him dearly, however, as he started to drop down the order in the second half of the heat.

It was at that point that Andrea Adamo led the pack for the first time. Adamo, who started right on the cusp of the top five, took advantage of the mistakes that his competitors made and eventually found himself out front. The current series leader was not in a comfortable position though, as Kooiker and Luis Outeiro were nipping at his heels. Outeiro actually claimed the lead on the penultimate lap and looked set to take his first victory of the season, but the treacherous conditions caught him out and forced him to limp past the chequered flag in third.

Adamo completed a perfect day, when it was all said and done, as he claimed his seventh moto victory of the season. That also helped him extend his lead in the championship to eleven points entering the final moto, as Anton Nordstrom-Graaf struggled to master the unique circuit and could only manage a fourth. Kooiker, who only qualified in seventh, gave the passionate fans in the grandstands a lot to cheer about, as he finished second and chased Adamo across the finish line. Lynn Valk, Kjeld Stuurman and Kroon also finished inside of the top ten in the first encounter at their home event.

The title fight will come to an end tomorrow morning, as the final moto of the season will be held in the challenging conditions at 11:30am.

Andrea Adamo

Andrea Adamo 10

I did a good start and a good race. I had a good feeling with my bike and on this track, even though it was very difficult. Thanks to my friends, team, family and sponsors.

Pardi Racing Royal Patt
Gordon Crockard

Gordon Crockard

Honda Europe Off-Road Manager

Great improvement from all concerned. The race conditions were very similar to Lommel, where we saw a lot of riders struggle to get around, but they all did a lot better this time and managed their bikes to get across the finish line. The race was very exciting, as the wildcards were up front and battling with the regulars. The intelligent ride that Andrea Adamo, who has the championship within his grasp, had was great.

Luis Outeiro was excellent, in my opinion, as it was very positive to see him push so hard to win the race, but he had an incident where he touched a fallen bike and tipped over. He ended up third in the race, but I felt that he did excellent. There is another race tomorrow and Andrea will be riding very smart to get the title, I expect, so I look forward to that. Conditions tomorrow will hopefully be better too, so the riders will be able to get a bit more speed and enjoy it more. The final race of the year should be very exciting.

Honda Motor Europe
GP of The Netherlands

Assen, Netherlands

EMX150 2017, Round 5

Saturday 9 Sep 2017, 21:08 UTC
# Rider Num Nationality Nat. Points Pts. Team Constructor Constr. Time/Gap
1 Andrea Adamo 10 ITA 25 Pardi Racing Royal Patt Honda 27:10.306
2 Dave Kooiker 61 NDL 22 Unspecified Honda +1.066
3 Luis Outeiro 47 POR 20 Honda MotoRace Honda +5.975
4 Anton Nordstrom Graaf 66 SWE 18 Unspecified Honda +38.019
5 Toa Kishi 48 JPN 16 Unspecified Honda +53.513
6 Lynn Valk 84 NDL 15 MCE Honda MX Racing Honda +59.651
7 Kjeld Stuurman 11 NDL 14 Stuurman Sport/Freegun/ACS Honda +1:06.265
8 Rasmus Moen 7 SWE 13 Team Din MC/Monster Energy/Motul Honda +1:07.207
9 Dylan Kroon 90 NDL 12 Unspecified Honda +1 lap
10 Melwin Bengtson 4 SWE 11 Nilssons Motor Honda +1 lap
11 Boaz Bijtjes 35 NDL 10 Unspecified Honda +1 lap
12 Ruben Ferreira 19 POR 9 Unspecified Honda +2 laps
13 Rune Hermans 95 BEL 8 MX Hermans Jeugdteam Honda +2 laps
14 Senne Hermans 94 BEL 7 MX Hermans Jeugdteam Honda +2 laps
15 Magnus Vassgård 18 NOR 6 Star Motor MX Honda +3 laps
16 Oriol Roca Rius 72 SPA 5 Team Honda Vico Honda +3 laps
17 Wannes Ritrovato 55 BEL 4 Unspecified Honda +3 laps
18 Yago Dominquez 8 SPA 3 Diametral Pro Race Honda +3 laps
19 Nyls Kessen 21 BEL 2 Zone Rouge Honda +3 laps
20 Charlie McCarthy 13 IRE 1 McCarthy Ireland Racing Honda +3 laps
21 Daan Van de Bunte 34 NDL 0 Unspecified Honda +6 laps
22 Reo Linuma 43 JPN 0 Unspecified Honda +6 laps
23 Carles Rosell Romero 50 SPA 0 Oliva MX School Honda +6 laps
24 Teo Chetcuti 17 SWI 0 Unspecified Honda +6 laps
25 Cas Valk 85 NDL 0 Unspecified Honda +7 laps
26 Shiaru Honda 63 JPN 0 Unspecified Honda +8 laps
27 Tobias Sammut 77 GBR 0 South Coast Honda Honda +10 laps
28 Pol Boet Surroca 70 SPA 0 SAIS Power Honda +10 laps
29 Verneri Aaltonen 9 FIN 0 Manninen Bros Honda Honda +12 laps
Rider Standings
Saturday, 9 Sep 2017 - Open world standings grid
# Rider Num Nationality Nat. Points Pts. Team Constructor Constr.
1 Andrea ADAMO 10 ITA 201 Pardi Racing Royal Patt Honda
2 Anton NORDSTROM GRAAF 66 SWE 190 Unspecified Honda
3 Luis OUTEIRO 47 POR 176 Honda MotoRace Honda
4 Kjeld STUURMAN 11 NDL 144 Stuurman Sport/Freegun/ACS Honda
5 Rasmus MOEN 7 SWE 137 Team Din MC/Monster Energy/Motul Honda
6 Lynn VALK 84 NDL 136 MCE Honda MX Racing Honda
7 Toa KISHI 48 JPN 115 Unspecified Honda
8 Senne HERMANS 94 BEL 82 MX Hermans Jeugdteam Honda
9 Nikolai MALINOV 64 BUL 75 Unspecified Honda
10 Magnus VASSGåRD 18 NOR 71 Star Motor MX Honda
11 Melwin BENGTSON 4 SWE 66 Nilssons Motor Honda
12 Ruben FERREIRA 19 POR 65 Unspecified Honda
13 Ryan MAWHINNEY 15 GBR 63 Milwaukee Racing Honda
14 Boaz BIJTJES 35 NDL 55 Unspecified Honda
15 Verneri AALTONEN 9 FIN 49 Manninen Bros Honda Honda
16 Ville NORDSTRöM GRAAF 68 SWE 41 Unspecified Honda
17 Rune HERMANS 95 BEL 40 MX Hermans Jeugdteam Honda
18 Peter KöNIG 71 GER 30 Unspecified Honda
19 Marcus YOUNGBERRY 5 AUS 29 Team Australia Honda
20 Tobias SAMMUT 77 GBR 28 South Coast Honda Honda
21 Milan VAN DE BUNTE 31 NDL 27 Unspecified Honda
22 Wannes RITROVATO 55 BEL 25 Unspecified Honda
23 Dave KOOIKER 61 NDL 22 Unspecified Honda
24 Denzel VERVAET 45 BEL 17 Unspecified Honda
25 Yago DOMINQUEZ 8 SPA 15 Diametral Pro Race Honda
26 Frederico ROCHA 37 POR 14 Ondacoimbra/Elimoto Racing Team Honda
27 Oriol Roca RIUS 72 SPA 14 Team Honda Vico Honda
28 Cas VALK 85 NDL 13 Unspecified Honda
29 Shiaru HONDA 63 JPN 13 Unspecified Honda
30 Dylan KROON 90 NDL 12 Unspecified Honda
31 Nyls KESSEN 21 BEL 12 Zone Rouge Honda
32 Carles ROSELL ROMERO 50 SPA 8 Oliva MX School Honda
33 Charlie MCCARTHY 13 IRE 4 McCarthy Ireland Racing Honda